Tiny Garden Updates!

Hello, everyone!

I have a small update from my garden to share with you.

It’s the banyan waking up again!

But this time instead of shooting leaves from the top, the young tree has grown nodes in places on the long stem, and that’s where the leaves are shooting from. This is the first time the banyan is doing this, so I guess he is okay being bald from the top.

I had dismantled my garden in late January, and made it again, so I don’t have many grown plants currently. This tomato below is the most grown as of now.

And after losing over a dozen peas to birds who misbehave, I came up with an idea of protecting the peas, with plastic bottles. My resident winged monsters do not know how to ruin flat and slippery surfaces, yet, as their beaks and claws do not help if they cannot grab it. So the picture below is the pea that is still alive, all because of the bottle that I placed firmly over it.

Speaking of my winged monsters, oh, how much drama I had to deal with after their house blew off in February, during the time when we had high winds and rain for several days at a stretch. I told them this is a sign from the Universe to find another balcony to live in. There are over a thousand balconies in my neighbourhood, and so many of them are completely empty as the residents are not using their balconies for gardening or anything else. So I politely asked my pigeons to find a better one for themselves.

What I got in return was this.

Full attitude and zero consideration of my request. Every morning she came in with her sticks and sat cooing in front of me for hours! This was her way of protesting her eviction.

I tried to reason, I scolded, I pleaded, and finally gave up. So this happened yesterday.

Sigh!

I have a few chillies and more tomatoes coming up. If they get to grow enough, I will share with you.

Signing off for today. Happy gardening to you wherever you are!

10 responses to “Tiny Garden Updates!”

  1. Tenants forever!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Any self respecting pigeon would choose the best balcony. Well done to the banyan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The banyan always amazes me. It’s been growing in a small plastic jug since 2018. Oh my pigeons are as smart as dodos, cannot expect them to do anything remotely sensible.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A happy banyan! Lovely share. 🪴

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re most welcome!

        Like

  4. Banyan tree looks great! Pigeon is a cutie. How lovely you got some eggs! I always find that it is a blessing that birds come to nest at your place. Consider yourself blessed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do. If only my blessings would poo less 🤦‍♀️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started